Why OpenOffice?

14 01 2009

Access 2003, on which my original logbook was based, uses a now redundant file format (.mdb); hence, I have moved to OpenOffice in the hope that this future-proofs the logbook.

OpenOffice:

  • is free
  • is opensource
  • is available for multiple platforms / operating systems
  • uses OpenDocument standards
  • allows direct creation of forms as PDFs for emailing
  • is available as a Portable Application that can be carried on a USB flash drive
Actions

Information

2 responses

28 02 2009
PF

Hey Hari,
Can I use this on my PDA via open ogffice for pda???

1 03 2009
ugm6hr

Honestly, I don’t know. My original logbook was created for Windows Mobile, and I can export data from that to the new database using Access XP / Excel (but not in the other direction). I no longer use my PDA to enter data; I do it directly on my computer, so had no need of this function. You could export the data as individual spreadsheet tables to synchronise back-and-forth using the OpenOffice XMerge synchronisation plugin, but I have never tried it. If you have a specific method in mind, I’ll look into it. I’m afraid I am unaware of an OpenOffice version available for PDAs.

Leave a Reply

